The Project for Metaphysical, Spiritual and Religious Study

Tenets of Islam
Holistic Theology
Religions of the World
Historic Time Line of World Religion
A Dictionary of the Divine
Mind, Body and Spirit
New Age and the New Thought Movement
The Earth's Sacred Points of Energy
Prophets and Teachers
Patron Saints
Angels and other Spritual Beings
The Prayer Page
Creationism, Evolution and Intelligent Design
One World Religion
The New Thought Movement
New Religious Movements and Cults
Secret Societies
Religious Denominations, Spiritual Groups and Organizations
Religious Symbols
Religious Texts
The Gospels
Gnostics, Gnostic Gospels, & Gnosticism
Zionism - Definition and Early History
A Brief History of Israel and Palestine and the Conflict
The Prophecy Page
The End Times
The After Life
Courses in Metaphysics, Sprituality and Religion (FREE)
Interesting Links
Patrick's Favorite Links
What I believe

The tenets of Islam

The two largest subgroups of the Muslims are the Sunni and the Shi'a. Sunni Muslims make up a large percentage of the Muslim world although one can find large majorities of Shi'a Muslims making up the Middle Eastern countries such as Iran and Iraq. However, in Saudi Arabia, Sunni Muslim are the majority. Sunni Islam's most fundamental tenets are referred to as the Five Pillars of Islam2, while Shia Islam has a slightly different terminology, encompassing five core beliefs, the Roots of Religion and ten core practices, the Branches of Religion. All Muslims agree on the following statements, which Sunnis term the Five Pillars of Islam, and Shia would consider two of the Roots of Religion and four of the Branches of Religion.

The Pilgrimage (Hajj) to Kaaba,  Masjid al Haram, Mecca, is one of the five pillars of Islam
The Pilgrimage (Hajj) to Kaaba, Masjid al Haram, Mecca, is one of the five pillars of Islam
  • Shahadah: The Testimony that there is none worthy of worship except God (Tawheed) and that Muhammad is his messenger (Nubuwwah).
  • Salah: Establishing of the five daily Prayers (salah).
  • Zakat: The Giving of Zakaah (charity), which is one fortieth (2.5%) of the net worth of savings kept for more than a year, with few exemptions, for every Muslim whose wealth exceeds the nisab, and 10% or 20% of the produce from agriculture. This money or produce is distributed among the poor and indigents.
  • Sawm: Fasting from dawn to dusk in the month of Ramadan.
  • Hajj: The Pilgrimage (Hajj) to Mecca during the month of Dhul Hijjah, which is compulsory once in a lifetime for one who has the ability to do it.

The Shia include the following, though some of these beliefs are also considered accurate in Sunni Islam as well:

  • Adl: The justice of God.
  • Qiyamah: The Day of Resurrection.

and four of what the Shia call the Branches of Religion:

while two "branches", and one "root", are specifically Shia:

  • Imamah: Leadership. The belief in the divinely appointed and guided imamah of Ali and some of his descendants.
  • Tawalla: To love the Ahl al-Bayt and their followers.
  • Tabarra: To disassociate from the enemies of the Ahl al-Bayt

Enter content here

Enter supporting content here

Fair Use Notice: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of the subjects related to religion, spirituality and metaphysics . We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.
If anyone wishes to comment on the material on this web page, please feel free to contact the site coordinator using the contact page.